Antigua's OECS Cycling Team

Antigua’s OECS Cycling Team

by Kern Mason/GrenadaSports

CASTRIES, St Lucia, November 17, 2013 – Antigua and Barbuda secured their third consecutive Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) Cycling Championship Title following Sunday’s event which was held in St Lucia.

Andre Simon held off a strong challenge by St Lucian Kurt Maraj to cross the finish line in a time of 2:12:14.885, Maraj (2:12:15.078) was second with Anguilla’s Justin Hodge placing third in 2:12:15.731.

Double back-to-back OECS Cycling Champion Jyme Bridges who brought the titles to Antigua in 2010 and 2011 had to settle for seventh (2:13:12.085).

“For me it was a very good day. I came out today to work for the team because having won this race on two occasions, the guys were really watching me” said Bridges to GrenadaSports after the race. “I kept the focus on me so the other guys could get out in front and it all played off as we planned and Antigua is at the top of the podium once again.”

Bridges now has his eyes set on the 2014 Pan American Championships, CAC Games and Commonwealth Games.

The 2013 Champion Andre Simon is happy with the win and says “the rain affected the start but given the flat nature of the race it worked out well for when the surface dried up. The team came with a plan and executed it well.”

Team Grenada did not do well at the event with Tyron Thomas finishing fourth (2:12:15.965) his fellow countrymen Troy Felix and Royston Sylvester finished 19th (2:14:48.415) and 25th (2:26:58.333) respectively. The other Grenadian cyclist Junior Telesford did not finish due to a flat tire.

Tesheed Gordon of Antigua and Barbuda (2:12:16:561) crossed the line sixth to win the junior category. Gillan Moses of St Lucia (2:14:43.514) and Zefal Bailey of St Vincent and the Grenadines (2:14:43:990) was second and third respectively.


%d bloggers like this: