Alleyne Francique & Bralon Taplin/File Photo

Alleyne Francique & Bralon Taplin/File Photo

by Michael Bascombe

ST GEORGE’S, March 10, 2016 – Three athletes will represent Grenada at the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Portland, Oregon this month.

World 400 metres indoor leader Bralon Taplin, fellow quarter-miler Payton Hazzard and Commonwealth Games Bronze medallist in the Decathlon Kurt Felix will carry the nation’s flag at the four-day championship, starting next Thursday.

Taplin is highly favoured to win the 400m gold medal to complement a streak of world champions including Alleyne Francique, a two-time world indoor champion, and Kirani James. He has the two fastest times in the world including 45.20 seconds in College Station, Texas on January 16.

Hazzard will also compete in the 400m while Felix will feature in the heptathlon.

All three athletes will begin their campaign on the second day of the championship with Felix competing in the 60 metres scheduled for 11:30 a.m. Grenada time and Taplin and Hazzard in the men’s 400m heats from 11:45 a.m.

Felix will complete competition on that day with the long jump, shot put and high jump. He will conclude the seven-event discipline with the 60m hurdles, pole vault and 1,000m on March 19.

Both Taplin and Felix have already qualified for the Rio Olympic Games.

The IAAF said the size of the combined events fields for this year’s championships has been increased; for the first time since 1997, the pentathlon and heptathlon will have 12 athletes in each competition.

The invites for the combined events in Portland were based on the 2015 IAAF Combined Events Challenge, on last year’s outdoor world season lists, on this year’s indoor world season lists, plus one wild card.

Heptathlon Field

Curtis Beach (USA)

Larbi Bourrada (ALG)

Mathias Brugger (GER)

Ashton Eaton (USA)

Kurt Felix (GRN)

Adam Sebastian Helcelet (CZE)

Oleksiy Kasyanov (UKR)

Jeremy Lelievre (FRA)

Tim Nowak (GER)

Petter Olson (SWE)

Samuel Remedios (POR)

Jorge Urena (ESP)

Pentathlon Field

Makeba Alcide (LCA)

Katerina Cachova (CZE)

Georgia Ellenwood (CAN)

Alina Fodorova (UKR)

Morgan Lake (GBR)

Celina Leffler (GER)

Anastasiya Mokhnyuk (UKR)

Barbara Nwaba (USA)

Salcia Slack (JAM)

Brianne Theisen-Eaton (CAN)

Kendell Williams (USA)

Gyorgyi Zsivoczky-Farkas (HUN)

The IAAF has also received entries for the men’s and women’s 4×400 metres. The nations that will be contesting that event are:

South Africa

Trinidad and Tobago

United States

United States


%d bloggers like this: