Denis George/File Photo

Denis George/File Photo

by Michael Bascombe

ST GEORGE’S, May 21, 2016 – Left-arm spinner Denis George led St Patrick to a six-wicket win over St George and the 2016 Grenada Cricket Association (GCA) Super50 Inter-Parish Cricket Tournament on Saturday.

George bagged four for 27 off 8.2 overs to set up St Patrick for the title at Progress Park, St Andrew. He was responsible for removing the dangerous Cyprian Forsyth, who has been the leading scorer for St George.

George trapped Forsyth leg before for 50 which came off 66 balls and included three fours and two sixes.

Miguel Smith added 30 and Akeem Alexis (14) and Bronson Johnson (13) were the only other batsmen to reach double figures for St George as they were bowled out for 137 in 37.2 overs.

Delon Matthew (2-10), Craig Phillip (2-23), Emon Alexander (1-30) and Alvin Marcelle (1-39) ensured wickets for all the St Patrick’s bowlers.

St Patrick stuttered in their response losing the early wicket of Eran Matthew in the first over with the score on five.

But Essen Joseph and Deron Hypolite blasted 61 runs for the second wicket off just nine overs to repair the damage before Joseph was caught by Chard Charles off Narun Singh for 37.

Hypolite also teamed up with captain Devon Smith to add another 54 runs for the fourth wicket. Smith made 26 and Hypolite was left unbeaten on 49 as St Patrick reached 143 for four off 23 overs.

Singh took two for 16 and Charles (1-33) and Javed St Paul (1-34) were the successful bowlers for St George.

“St Patrick played the best cricket throughout and deserved to win,” said Dwain Gill, President of the GCA.

“Congratulation to Captain Devon Smith and his team. Although boasting the likes of Smith and Denis George, there were contributions from many others. Hopefully cricket can grow from strength to strength in the parish.”

Summarised Scores:

St George 137 all out (37.2 overs)

(Cyprian Forsyth 50, Miguel Smith 30; Denis George 4-27, Demon Matthew 2-10, Craig Phillip 2-23)

St Patrick 143-4 (23.0 overs)

(Deron Hypolite 49*, Essen Joseph 37, Devon Smith 26; Narun Singh 2-16)


%d bloggers like this: