Portia Simpson-MillerKINGSTON, Jamaica, November 26, 2015 – Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller says Jamaicans and World and Olympic sprint champions Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce continue to showcase their dominance on and off the track.

The athletes were recently crowned Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year at the second annual Caribbean Sports Awards.

In congratulating Ambassadors Bolt and Fraser-Pryce, Prime Minister Simpson Miller said she was proud of their accomplishments, adding “It is no surprise that Usain and Shelly have copped the major titles at the Caribbean Sports Awards. They have been exceptional athletes and continue to dominate track and field. They are outstanding Ambassadors for Jamaica.”

The Prime Minister also acknowledged and congratulated other Jamaica athletes who were winners.

“I wish to congratulate all the other athletes who won in their respective categories. They are extraordinary Jamaicans who have done us proud.”

The winners include Nesta Carter, Asafa Powell, Nickel Ashmeade who along with Bolt won the Male Team of the Year award; Veronica Campbell-Brown, Natasha Morrison, Elaine Thompson and Fraser-Pryce who were named Female Team of the Year; and Danielle Williams who won the award for Rising Star of the Year.

Jamaicans won five of the six categories in the Caribbean awards.

The nominees were selected by sports journalists across the Caribbean and the winners were chosen by a six-member judging panel consisting of Olympians Tonique Williams of the Bahamas and Ato Boldon of Trinidad and Tobago, former World Cup and English Premier League footballer Shaka Hislop of Trinidad and Tobago and journalists Terry Finisterre of St Lucia, Vernon A Springer of St Kitts and Nevis and Kayon Raynor of Jamaica.

With the absence of the Olympic Games in 2015, the judges focused on distinguished achievement, honour or world record achieved at the World Championships, Pan American Games or similar high level of competitions in their respective sport to arrive at the winners.

This was the second annual awards organised by the Caribbean Sports Journalists’ Association (CASJA) with Kirani James of Grenada and Kaliese Spencer of Jamaica taking the top honours in the inaugural year.


%d bloggers like this: