Kirani & KalieseKINGSTON, November 17, 2014 – Kirani James of Grenada and Kaliese Spencer of Jamaica have been voted the top sportsman and sportswoman in the Caribbean across sporting disciplines by the Caribbean Sports Journalists’ Association (CASJA).

James, who won the Commonwealth Games 400 metres gold in Glasgow, Scotland this summer received three of six final votes from the six-member selection panel consisting of Olympians Tonique Williams (BAH) and Ato Boldon (TTO), Former World Cup footballer Shaka Hislop (TTO) and Journalists Terry Finisterre (SLU), Vernon Springer (SKN) and Kayon Raynor (JAM).

The man, who ended the year with the fastest time of 43.74 seconds edged out Jamaican World Boxing Association (WBA) Super World featherweight boxer champion Nicholas “the Axeman” Walters (2 votes) and six time Olympic gold medallist Usain Bolt of Jamaica for the top award.

The winners were selected from a shortlist of nominees submitted via responses from members of CASJA.

Spencer, who captured gold in the 400m hurdles at the Commonwealth Games, in addition to winning a fifth IAAF 400m Hurdles Diamond League Trophy polled five of the six votes by the panel. Yarisley Silva of Cuba, the Pole Vault gold medallist from the World Indoor Championships in Sopot, Poland ended second in the female vote (1).

Sprint hurdler Wilhem Belocian of Guadeloupe and Barbadian Akela Jones were named the two Rising Stars.

Belocian, who captured the 2014 World Junior Championships gold in a world junior record of 12.99 seconds, beat Jamaica’s Jaheel Hyde to the accolade. Hyde had won the world junior 400m hurdle gold and the Youth Olympic Games 110m title.

Jones, who secured gold in the Long Jump at the World Junior champions in addition to receiving the Austin Sealy Award after copping three individual gold medals at the CARIFTA Championships, beat Jamaican Commonwealth Games 400m champion Stephenie-Ann McPherson to the female Rising Star award.

Jamaica’s team of Nickel Ashmeade, Warren Weir, Jermaine Brown, Yohan Blake, which set a new world record of 1 minute 18.63 seconds in the 4x200m relay in Nassau, Bahamas was voted the top male Team of the Year.  Trinidad and Tobago’s Soca Princesses, who are one win away from qualifying for next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada was named the female Team of the Year. The Soca Princesses will meet Ecuador in the return leg of their playoff on December 2 in Port of Spain, Trinidad.



3 of 6 winning votes: Kirani James, Grenada – Athletics.

2 of 6 winning votes: Nicholas Walters, Jamaica – Boxing

1 of 6 winning votes: Usain Bolt, Jamaica – Athletics


5 of 6 Winning votes: Kaliese Spencer, Jamaica – Athletics

1 of 6 Winning vote: Yarisley Silva, Cuba – Athletics


3 of 6 Winning votes: Wilhem Belocian, Guadeloupe – Athletics

2 of 6 Winning votes: Jaheel Hyde, Jamaica – Athletics

1 of 6 Winning vote: Deon Lendore, Trinidad & Tobago – Athletics


3 of 6 winning votes: Akela Jones, Barbados – Athletics

2 of 6 winning votes: Stephanie McPherson, Jamaica – Athletics

1 of 6 winning votes: Michelle Lee Ahye, Trinida & Tobago – Athletics


5 Winning votes: Jamaica 4x200m Relay WR Team

1 Winning vote: Jamaica 4x100m Relay Team


2 Winning votes: Trinidad & Tobago Football Team

1 Winning vote each: Jamaica Netball Team

1 Winning vote: Jamaica 4×400 Relay Team

1 Winning vote: West Indies Women Team

1 Winning vote: Jamaica 4x100m Relay Team


The nominees were tabulated based on responses received from members of CASJA.

The six member panel of judges which consisted of Olympians Tonique Williams (BAH) & Ato Boldon (TTO), Former World Cup/English Premier League footballer Shaka Hislop (TTO) and

Journalists Terry Finisterre (SLU), Vernon Springer (SKN) and Kayon Raynor (JAM) then deliberated on the winners.

With the absence of the Olympic Games in 2014, the judges focused on distinguished achievement, honour or world record achieved at the World Championships, Commonwealth Games or similar high level of competition in their respective sport to arrive at the winners.

Sportsman of the Year Nominees:

Kirani James, GRN – Athletics

Jaheel Hyde, JAM – Athletics

Shivnarine Chanderpaul, GUY – Cricket

Nicholas Walters, JAM – Boxing

Keshorn Walcott, TTO – Athletics

Sunil Narine, TTO – Cricket

Denesh Ramdin, TTO – Cricket

Usain Bolt, JAM – Athletics

Sportswoman of the Year Nominees:

Kaliese Spencer, JAM – Athletics

Romelda Aiken, JAM – Netball

Sahily Diago, CUB – Athletics

Stafanie Taylor, JAM – Cricket

Yarisley Silva, CUB – Athletics

Alia Atkinson, JAM – Swimming

Stephenie-Ann McPherson, JAM – Athletics

Deandra Dottin, BAR – Cricket

Karen Meakins, BAR – Squash

Team of the Year Male Nominees:

Jamaica 4x200m Relay Team – Athletics

Antigua & Barbuda Senior – Football

Puerto Rico Senior – Basketball

Barbados Tridents – Cricket

Jamaica 4x100m Relay Team – Athletics

Trinidad W Connection FC – Football

Barbados Davis Cup Team – Tennis

Barbados Team – Bodybuilding

Trinidad & Tobago 4x100m Relay Team – Athletics

Team of the Year Female Nominees:

Trinidad & Tobago Senior – Football

Jamaica National Team – Netball

West Indies Team – Cricket

Jamaica 4x400m Relay Team – Athletics

Barbados Team – Body Fitness

Jamaica 4x100m Relay Team – Athletics

Rising Star of the Year Male Nominees:

O’Dayne Richards, JAM – Athletics

Deon Lendore, TTO – Athletics

Kraigg Brathwaite, BAR – Cricket

Lazaro Martinez, CUB – Athletics

Wilhem Belocian, GLP/FRA – Athletics

Jaheel Hyde, JAM – Athletics

Cavahn McKenzie, JAM – Athletics

Rising Star of the Year Female Nominees:

Michelle-Lee Ahye, TTO – Athletics

Akela Jones, BAR – Athletics

Shanel Daley, JAM – Cricket

Natalya White, JAM – Athletics

Yorgelis Rodriguez, CUB – Athletics

Janeive Russell, JAM – Athletics

Chelsea Tuach, BAR – Surfing

Stephenie-Ann McPherson, JAM – Athletics

Sahily Diago, CUB – Athletics


%d bloggers like this: